Board of trustees

  • Sir Simon Boyle KCVO

    Vice Chairman Simon Boyle became a Trustee of SDF in 1985. He had an industrial career leading to 31 years at British Steel , the last 25 being at Llanwern dealing with export sales management. On retirement in 2001 he became Lord-Lieutenant for Gwent (October 2001 - March 2016). He was Chairman of Monmouth Diocesan Parsonage Board 2001-2011, Vice Chairman Monmouth Diocesan Board of Finance 2001-2015, Chairman Gwent Criminal Justice Board 2003-2005, & is involved with numerous Gwent charities and voluntary organisations.
  • Dame Rosemary Butler DBE

    A member of the National Assembly for Wales between May 1999 and April 2016, Rosemary Butler has lived in Caerleon for many years and attended St Julian's High School. Her interests range from museums, art galleries, concerts and opera to foreign travel and family history. Elected councillor for Caerleon on Newport Borough Council, a position she held from 1973 until 1999. While on the council, she chaired the Leisure Services Committee for 12 years and served as Deputy Leader and Mayor of Newport (1989 - 1990). In May 2011 she was elected to the position of Presiding Officer of the National Assembly which she held until her retirement in 2016.
  • Mrs Penny Davies

    Reader, Church in Wales
  • Mrs Judith Child

    Judith has lived in Wales for most of her life with the exception of the two years she lived in Africa. Has worked for the British High Commission and has been involved with charity work such as being a British Red Cross centre organiser, a trustee of Edward James Harris Trust and a CHC member. Judith has been a non-executive director of the Gwent Hospital Trust and a Justice of the Peace since 1985 and is a member of the appointments panel for the Magistrates Association Committee both locally and in London.
  • Dr Chris Gaffney

    Retired, Consultant Oncologist.
  • Mr Michael Hine

    Michael has managed the Kingsway Centre in Newport city centre since being appointed in 1985 and lives in rural Monmouthshire. He moved into property management from a retailing background with BHS, the Selfridges group and area retail management – aspects which have proved invaluable in understanding and liaising with tenants especially in austere times such as now. He also sits on the Board of Management of both Chambers of Trade and Commerce. Other interests include membership of the Rotary Club of St Woolos Newport, for which he is Secretary; and a Trustee of St David’s Hospice Care, with an advisory role for their shops division – the major source of essential income vital for the palliative care service that is provided free of charge to patients in South East Wales and Powys.
  • Dr John Holland

  • Mr Denis Jessopp, OBE

    Mr Denis Jessopp trained as an engineer in Portsmouth. After National Service he joined Hoover in Merthyr (1960) and retired from the company in 1993. He held various posts but from 1985 was Technical Director for design and manufacture for Hoover in Europe. He join Glan Hafren NHS Trust in 1996 and subsequently Gwent Healthcare, retiring from the Chair in 2003. He was also Chair of the NAS Information Programme for Wales 2003/4 and Director of Gwent Arts in Health.
  • Mr Malgwyn Davies OBE CStJ

    Chairman Solicitor with Gwent County Council and then Deputy Chief Executive. Chief Executive of Caerphilly County Borough Council from 1995 to 2006. Former Clerk to the Lord-Lieutenant of Gwent from 1996 to 2016. Former Chairman of the Caerphilly Council of St John and was previously a Volunteer Driver for St David's Hospice Care.
  • Mr Jim Thompson

  • Mrs Margaret Van de Weyer

    Honorary Treasurer Margaret is a retired solicitor having worked within the area with local firms as well as working in India. On her retirement in 2006 she joined the board of St David's becoming Honorary Treasurer. She is married with 3 children and 2 granddaughters, her hobbies include golf, bridge, tennis and cycling. She thoroughly enjoys her role on the board of Trustee’s and has great satisfaction knowing she has contributed towards the great work of St David’s Hospice Care.
  • Mrs Pat White, MBE

  • Sian Williams

  • Rick O'Shea

  • Adam Jones

Meet our Management Team